The Ministry

Establishment of the Ministry for Consumer Protection, the first ministry exclusively dedicated to consumers

In Luxembourg, consumer protection has been on the agenda for a long time. Until present, several ministries or state-supported institutions have been responsible for various aspects of consumer protection.

However, the context has changed. In the digital age, consumers are confronted with new economic models giving them new choices or roles. Consumers therefore require more transparency and safety.

The Government has therefore decided to create a new ministry exclusively dedicated to consumer protection, the Ministry for Consumer Protection (MPC).

Attributions of the MPC

The MPC’s duties have been defined in the Grand-Duchy Regulation establishing the ministries.

  1. Policy for the legal protection of consumers: Policy for consumption on the single market and on the national market – Consumer Council – Code of Consumption, legal part and application side – Travellers rights – Relations with the European Consumer Centre EIG – Relations with the Luxembourg Consumer Protection Association (ULC).
  2. Food safety: Food chain safety – Establishment of an effective control and sanctions system for food products – Information and awareness-raising aimed at the public – Coordination of laboratory control activities – Hygiene barometer – Monitoring of establishments dealing with food, official controls of foodstuffs and the food chain, and of materials and objects in contact with food.

In addition to the direct duties under the responsibility of the MPC, all ministries are required to contribute to the National Sustainable Development Plan (PNDD). In this context, the MPC can act mainly in the fields of the promotion of sustainable consumption and production, i.e. Action field no. 3 as defined by the Luxembourgish Government.

The ambitions of the MPC

The MPC aims to create a reassuring environment for consumers, i.e. one that is healthy and safe, and in which laws efficiently protect consumers from wrongdoings, and provide them with necessary, transparent information allowing them to make responsible consumption choices.

The MPC aims to:

  • protect consumers
  • inform consumers
  • promote responsible consumption among the population

The MPC’s activities are based on three strategic pillars:

Last update

Das Ministerium

Schaffung des MPC, das erste Ministerium eigens für Verbraucher

In Luxemburg steht der Verbraucherschutz schon seit langem auf der Tagesordnung. Seit Jahren befassen sich unterschiedliche Ministerien und staatlich geförderte Einrichtungen mit dessen zahlreichen Facetten.

Allerdings hat sich der diesbezügliche Kontext verändert. Der Verbraucher lebt im digitalen Zeitalter und muss sich mit neuen Geschäftsmodellen auseinandersetzen, die ihm neue Wahlmöglichkeiten eröffnen und neue Rollen übertragen. Er braucht mehr Transparenz, aber auch mehr Sicherheit.

Aus diesem Grund hat die Regierung beschlossen, ein Ministerium zu schaffen, das sich ausschließlich mit Fragen des Verbraucherschutzes befasst (Ministerium für Verbraucherschutz, MPC).

Zuständigkeitsbereich des Ministeriums für Verbraucherschutz

Die Zuständigkeiten des Verbraucherschutzministeriums werden durch den großherzoglichen Erlass zur Einrichtung der Ministerien festgelegt:

1. Rechtsschutzpolitik für Verbraucher: Verbraucherpolitik im Binnenmarkt und auf nationaler Ebene – Verbraucherrat – Verbrauchergesetzbuch: Gesetzgebung und Anwendung – Fahrgastrechte – Beziehungen zum Europäischen Verbraucherzentrum (GIE) – Beziehungen zum luxemburgischen Verbraucherverband (Union luxembourgeoise des consommateurs);

2. Lebensmittelsicherheit: Sicherheit der Nahrungsmittelkette – Einrichtung eines effizienten Kontroll- und Sanktionssystems im Lebensmittelbereich – Aufklärung und Sensibilisierung der Öffentlichkeit – Koordinierung der Kontrolltätigkeiten der Labore – Hygienebarometer – Überwachung der Lebensmittelbetriebe, amtliche Kontrolle der Lebensmittel und der Nahrungsmittelkette sowie der Materialien und Gegenstände, die mit Lebensmitteln in Kontakt kommen.

Neben seinen direkten, eigenen Zuständigkeiten ist das Verbraucherschutzministerium, wie sämtliche Ministerien, dazu verpflichtet, seinen Beitrag zum nationalen Plan für nachhaltige Entwicklung zu leisten. Das MPC kann hier vor allem im Bereich der Förderung des nachhaltigen Konsums und der nachhaltigen Produktion tätig werden, also dem von der luxemburgischen Regierung festgelegten Handlungsfeld 3.

Ambitionen des MPC

Ziel des Verbraucherschutzministeriums ist es, ein verbraucherfreundliches Umfeld zu schaffen, in dem Gesundheitsschutz und Sicherheit gewährleistet sind, das Gesetz den Verbraucher wirksam vor Missbrauch schützt und dieser über die erforderlichen und transparenten Informationen verfügt, die er braucht, um sich vertrauensvoll für ein verantwortungsbewusstes Konsumverhalten entscheiden zu können.

Das Ministerium für Verbraucherschutz ist bestrebt:

  1. Den Verbraucher zu schützen
  2. Den Verbraucher zu informieren
  3. Der Bevölkerung Anreize für ein verantwortungsvolles Konsumverhalten zu geben

Die Tätigkeiten des Ministeriums für Verbraucherschutz sind auf 3 Schwerpunkte ausgerichtet:  

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am